Touring car drivers from all over the world gather for inaugural TCR SPA 500
News | January 26, 2020
GENNEP/FRANCORCHAMPS (1 October 2019) – Next weekend, the world-famous Circuit de Spa-Francorchamps will serve as the venue for the inaugural TCR SPA 500, the stand-alone flagship endurance race for TCR touring cars. The prospect of a true endurance race for the burgeoning category has attracted drivers from all over the world. The field includes many international touring car stars. With Audi, Cupra, Opel, Peugeot and Volkswagen, five different brands will be represented on the grid. With three support categories, the Supercar Challenge, the Mazda MX-5 Cup and the Ford Fiesta Sprint Cup, and the TCR race of 500 laps or a maximum duration of 23 hours, an action-packed event is guaranteed.

  Tourenwagenfahrer aus der ganzen Welt am Start bei Premiere TCR SPA 500
  Des pilotes de tourisme du monde entier réunis pour l’édition inaugurale des TCR SPA 500
  Toerwagencoureurs van over de hele wereld komen samen voor eerste TCR SPA 500

The TCR SPA 500 is a joint initiative by WSC Ltd, rights-holders of the TCR regulations for touring cars, and Dutch agency CREVENTIC, well-known as the promoters and organisers of the 24H SERIES powered by Hankook. The TCR SPA 500 will be the showcase event for the TCR touring car category and revives the tradition of touring car endurance racing at the Spa-Francorchamps circuit.
The opportunity to race at this fantastic venue has not only attracted drivers from all over Europe, but also from countries and territories as far afield as Australia, Hong Kong, Macau, Malaysia, the United Arab Emirates and the United States. Teams are split up in the Pro, Am and Pro-Am categories. Next to overall and class honours, there is also the EXO TCR Nations’ Trophy at stake. Any line-up that includes at least three drivers of the same nationality is eligible for the EXO TCR Nations’ Trophy. The winning nation (team) is allowed to keep the EXO TCR Nations’ Trophy for one year.
Well-known touring car racers on the grid
Numerous well-known touring car racers will be on the grid, including champions like Andy Yan (2016 TCR Asia champion, #22 Teamwork Huff Motorsport Audi RS 3 LMS), Tom Coronel (2006 and 2009 WTCC Independents’ Trophy winner, #101 Red Cupra TCR), Mikel Azcona (2018 TCR Europe champion, #131 TOPCAR sport with Bas Koeten Racing Cupra TCR), Fabian Danz (2019 24H TCE SERIES Europe champion, #131 TOPCAR sport with Bas Koeten Racing Cupra TCR) and Aurélien Comte (2017 TCR Europe champion, #308 DG Sport Compétition Peugeot 308 TCR). Coronel and Azcona are currently racing in the FIA WTCR Touring Car World Cup as well.
Other drivers well known from various international touring car competitions are Pepe Oriola (runner-up 2011 FIA ETCC, runner-up 2012 WIA WTCC, runner-up 2015 TCR International Series), Filipe de Souza and Kam San Lam (both wildcard drivers 2018 FIA WTCR Macau, #853 Macau PS Racing Audi RS 3 LMS), Pierre-Yves Corthals (2006-2010 WTCC driver, 2017 driver TCR International Series).
Parade to Malmédy, scrutineering and autograph session in the city centre
A special element, in line with the high-profile character of the event, is a parade of the race cars from the circuit to the city centre of Malmédy. Cars will leave the circuit on Thursday 3 October at 16.00 hrs. Scrutineering of the cars will be carried out in Malmédy, followed by an autograph session of all the drivers participating in the event from 17.00-18.00 hrs. At 18.30 hrs, cars will start making their way back to the circuit.
Official track action for the TCR SPA 500 starts with free practice on Friday 4 October from 13.55-15.25 hrs, followed by night practice from 19.00-21.00 hrs. The starting grid positions for the race will be determined in qualifying on Saturday 5 October from 11.00-11.30 hrs. The race gets underway at 16.00 hrs and will cover 500 laps or a maximum duration of 23 hours, so the finish will be on Sunday 6 October at 15.00 hrs at the latest.
The Supercar Challenge, the Mazda MX-5 Cup and the Ford Fiesta Sprint Cup (Netherlands and Belgium) are the official support categories for the TCR SPA 500 and will each have two races with a duration of 60 minutes for the Supercar Challenge and 30 minutes for the other two classes.
The specialised team of Radio Show Limited, well-known from Radio Le Mans and IMSA Radio, will be providing live commentary for qualifying, night practice and the race. The race can be followed on the event’s official website, the 24H SERIES YouTube channel and TCR TV. Hankook is the official tyre supplier of the event, Panta is the official fuel supplier. DRD international for screen printing, Stand21 Racewear and Speedcom for radio equipment and support are present with sales and service booths in the paddock at Spa-Francorchamps. The customer sports departments from Opel, Peugeot and the VAG group (Audi, Cupra and Volkswagen) are present with parts support in the paddock. EXO car cleaning products is the official title sponsor of the EXO TCR Nations’ Trophy.
Weekend tickets are available at a price of 25 Euros at all access points of the Circuit de Spa-Francorchamps. The ticket price includes grandstand seating and paddock access throughout the event. Further information can be found at 
Note for the editor: For further information, please contact:
Creventic BV
Zandstraat 11 6591DA Gennep
Postbus 40 6590AA Gennep
The Netherlands

Tel. +31 (0)485 471166
E-mail: [email protected]